Yorkshire Champions!

16th May 2023

Yorkshire Cup Final

Castle Park, Doncaster

Sunday 14th May 2023

Middlesbrough 30 Sandal 24

What a way to finish off our 150th year Yorkshire Cup Champions for the first time since 1976

So to the game another humdinger between 2 old rivals

Middlesbrough started the game well and went six points up through the boot of Andrew Baggett 6-0

Back come Sandal and score under our posts 6-7

Boro fight back, destroying the opposition scrum, but the Wakefield side score next and the conversion makes it 6-14

Andrew Baggett finishes off the half with a magnificent 50-22 but alas there is no time for the line out so we reach the break Boro 6 Sandal 14

Five minutes from the kick off Boro score a penalty through Andrew Baggett 9-14

Sandal fire back with another 7 pointer 9-21, we are playing well but cannot break thru their solid defence

Back to basics we go and score a try from a driving maul, a weapon that has been so effective all season, Josh Lynas comes up with the ball the con is added 16-21, This could go either way

The next 10 minutes is crazy, Baggy gets a yellow card, Sandal score a penalty 16-24, then the mighty Boro pack score another try from a driving maul with Myles Colvin taking the plaudits, Brendan Hill has the kahunas to take the conversion and slots it through as if he’s been kicking all year. Game on 23-24

So with the clock pushing 80 minutes and no time left the ball, from our “Never say Die” heroes ends up in ever reliable Jack McPhillips’ hands he takes on the opposition round the outside drawing in at least for defenders before passing the ball inside to substitute Will Deeks who sprints 10 yards for the line, he is tackled just short, but not held, he then reaches out and puts the ball down over the whitewash. The referee consults his touch judge and awards the try. Andrew Baggett hits the conversion and the final whistle is blown Middlesbrough 30 Sandal 24.

They’ve only gone and won the Yorkshire Cup.

I am still in shock this morning, what a day, did it really happen?

You bet it did

Josh Lynas Joe Sawdon Myles Colvin James Walker Finlay Magowan Alistair Lang Adam Marron Toby Tremlett Chris Lord Andrew Baggett Brendan Hill Pete Homan Jack McPhillips Harry Bryce Matthew Marsay Matthew Helm Billy Campbell Joseph McNeill Sam Pearey-Gill Rhys Kilbride and Rohan Brown you were magnificent, heroes one and all but most important of all


Thank you to all the supporters who came down to cheer the lads to victory

What a Day, What a Year, What a Club. #UTB #oneamazingclub


Full set of photos are in the gallery or follow these links

1st XV v Sandal Yorkshire Cup Final Celebrations – MRUFC (

1st XV v Sandal Yorkshire Cup Final – MRUFC (


Featured | 12 June
Featured | 08 June